Thursday of the 9th Week of the Year

Mark 12:28-34

The Greatest Commandment

OTHER HOMILY SOURCES:

During the early years after the eruption of Mt. Pinatubo, people came with donations for the Aetas through our Holy Spirit Aeta Mission Center in Capas, Tarlac. Some gave cash; others sardines, rice, noodles, coffee, sugar and clothes. Among the given items, used clothes took a lot of time and effort before they could be distributed. It was because among the used clothes a big number could not be worn anymore: tattered shirts, rag-like underwear, perforated dresses, worn-out socks, garterless pajamas and the like.

Giving is an act of love but is my giving an act of love, that is worthy of Jesus? When i give myself to the Lord in joy and pain, do i give with all, my heart, with all my soul, with all my mind, and with all my strength? In sharing my belongings with my neighbors do i give away what is beautiful and precious? If I can say YES sincerely to these questions, then Jesus will say to me, “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.” Sr. Joy Mary Climaco, SSpS Bible Diary 2002)

*************************************************************************

Our role model of faithfulness is Christ. His whole life, His teachings, His miracles, His words and actions – all bear the stamp of faithfulness. To whom? To His Father whose will was His food and drink; to His Mother Mary and to St. Joseph to who He was subject to in Nazareth during His hidden life of 30 years; to His apostles and disciples, to each one of us for whom He died to redeem us. “Christ is faithful in all His words and loving in all Hiss deeds.”

What about us? To be faithful is to be trustworthy, that is, to have integrity, sincerity, simplicity, openness and transparency to the truth. Christ was all these, what He stood for and believed in, He portrayed and witnessed in His life. What He promised, He fulfilled; what He taught, He exemplified. There was no double dealing, no ‘hidden agenda’ but a transparency and simplicity that was always evident.

Our faithfulness to God, to others, to ourselves shows in our commitment – are we consistently faithful in season and out of season? Are we faithful when plan miscarry, when things do not go according to our agenda, when failure, sickness misfortune, loneliness come our way? Or do we compromise and follow the line of least resistance, abandon our moral values and join the crowd? Let us follow the example of St. Charles Lwanga and companions (June 3) who remained faithful to God up to the very end. (SSpSAP Bible Dairy 2004)

**************************************************************************

In one of the books of Fr.  Frank Mihalic, SVD we find this story written by John Aikin, about a puppy that for the first time ventured out in the farm. Each animal the puppy met boasted of its usefulness and the great position each occupied in the heart of their master. Feeling useless and humbled the little dog found a secluded place and began to cry. But “that night when the master came home, the little puppy ran to him, licked his feet and jumped into his arms.  Falling to the ground, the master and puppy romped in the grass. Finally holding him close to his chest the master said, “No matter how tired I am when I get home, I feel better when you greet me. I wouldn’t trade you for all the animals in the farm.”

Loving God requires the humility and playfulness of a child. No matter how much I have learned in theology and in the ways of the world, no matter how much i have accomplished and what position I occupy, if I do not approached God and love Him with total abandon and surrender of everything, my love for Him will always remain wanting. Not that I shall reach perfection in my loving;  and yet, the desire and the decision to be perfect must burn in my heart all the days of my life. It is what God wants; it is the reason for my existence; it is the source of my happiness that only God can provide.

The next step is loving my neighbour. When I begin to love neighbour because I love God, then I can be sure that my love is genuine. It will not be self-seeking, it will not be selfish; instead, it will be godlike, because loving one’s neighbour now becomes integrated in my love for God. (Fr. Atilano Corcuera, SVD Bible Diary 2005)

**************************************************************************

Every Holy Thursday, during the Holy Week, all Christians recall Jesus’ mandatum: Love one another as I have loved you! This great commandment summarizes the whole law (OT) – the Ten Commandments, love of God and love of neighbor! Today, St. Mark reminds us that this two-fold Love is better than ‘all burnet offerings and sacrifices.’ The way Jesus loved humankind should be the way all His followers must love each other – serving each other until it hurts, until death on the cross! Humbly let us acknowledge that we cannot do this by ourselves. We need an inner strength to do this: the Holy Spirit. Ask Him to come today and fill you with His power. Only then can we be part in the building of His kingdom on earth. (Fr. Flor Camacho, SVD Bible Diary 2006)

************************************************************************

Archbishop Oscar Romero once said: “If only we would see that Christ is that person in need, tortured, imprisoned, assassinated! In every human figure thrown on our streets with such lack of dignity, we would discover Christ thrown aside…whom we would gather up tenderly and kiss.”

When asked about the greatest commandment, Jesus spoke of love. For the first commandment, “Love of one true God,” Jesus quoted Deuteronomy 6:4-5 and for the second commandment, “True love of neighbor,” He quoted Leviticus 19:18.

How can we love God? He is perfect; He needs nothing from us. That’s true, but is He not also worthy of our respect, reverence and gratitude? For His abundant love and generosity, is He not worth dying for? But the most concrete expression of our love for God is the love of neighbor. As for love of neighbor, Jesus means radical love; love that does not seek any benefits for itself; a love that sees the image of God in each one as Archbishop Romero realized.

We can experience this kind of love if our first wish is to give something to a person and not to get something from him/her; and we feel happy doing it. This is the kind of love which expects no repayment and which can pull us out of the morass of selfishness.

If you have never met a person to whom you felt such selfless love, then you have not really loved yet. Then you do not know what love of God and neighbor really is. If you are not sure whether you have ever felt true love then for sure you have not. Keep looking and trying! (Fr. Rommel Porillo, SVD Bible Diary 2007)

*************************************************************************

Jesus summed up man’s duties towards God in this saying: “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.”The second is this: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

Christ gave an instance of a poor Jew in distress, relieved by a Good Samaritan. This poor man fell among thieves who left him about to die from his wounds. He was avoided by those who should have been his friends and was cared for by a stranger, a Samaritan, of the nation which the Jews despised and detested most and would have no dealings with. It is lamentable to observe how selfishness governs all ranks; how many excuses men will make to avoid trouble or expense in relieving others. But the true Christian has the law of love written in his heart. The Spirit of Christ dwells in him; Christ’s image is renewed in his soul.

The parable is a beautiful explanation of the law of loving our neighbor as ourselves, without regard to nation, party or any other distinction. It is the duty of us all, in our places and according to our ability, to succor, help and relieve someone in distress and need.

This is how we can concretely express our love of God and neighbor, because sometimes, “we take almost more care to conceal our love than our hate,” (Ludwig Borne). Fr. Mike Mahinay, SVD Bible Diary 2008)

************************************************************************

Once I was talking to a couple who were celebrating their silver anniversary. My admiration for the two turned into curiosity when I noticed that the couple, by their facial appearances, were very much unlike each other. I could not explain how a husband, with a face that only a mother could love, can have a wife with a face that could have launched a thousand ships. Innocently, I asked, “What is your secret of a long and happy marriage?” the husband replied, “Next to God, my wife is my one and only! She is God’s gift to me. For how could I deserve such a beautiful wife if not for the goodness of God!” the wife, looking at the husband, quite apologetically said, “Well, I married him knowing fully well that he will love me faithfully as the only woman who can love him. Loving him is my way of expressing my love for God. because of this love, I found in him the best qualities a wife could ever wish for her man.” Like the unbelieving Thomas, i silently said to myself: “My Lord and my God.”

“God’s gift to me!” My love for him is my way of expressing my love for God!” Through these replies, the double commandment of love unfolds into something real and concrete! All these years, the love of God and the love of neighbour have been considered as two loves placed on opposite sides, which most often than not, are seen as different from each other. Here is a couple who proclaims two essential elements of the secret of the one and only love, namely, the love for God who cannot be seen is expressed in the love of neighbour who can be seen and that the very first neighbour to love is the person whom we live with. Love of God is the means to love the neighbour and vice versa. There is a new way of seeing my neighbour that he/she is God’s gift to me and the instrument by which I am to love God. (Fr. Fred Saniel, SVD Bible Diary 2009)

************************************************************************

The story is related by a certain Ha Minh Thanh, a Vietnamese immigrant working as a police in Japan, to a friend in Vietnam. Among other things, he shared the poignant experiences he had while helping the victims of the earthquake and tsunami than struck Japan. Part of his letter reads:

“Last night, I was sent to a little grammar school to help a charity organization distribute food to the refugees. It was a long line that snaked this way and that I saw a little boy around 9 years old. He was wearing a T-shirt and a pair of shorts.

It was getting very cold and the boy was at the very end of the line. I was worried that by the time his turn came there wouldn’t be any food left. So I spoke to him. He said he was at school when the earthquake happened. His father worked nearby and was driving to the school. The boy was on the third floor balcony when he saw the tsunami sweep his father’s car away.

“he said his house is right by the beach and that his mother and little sister probably didn’t make it. He turned his head and wiped his tears when I asked about his relatives

“The boy was shivering so i took off my police jacket and put it on him. That’s when my bag of food ration fell out. I picked it up and gave it to him. ‘When it comes to your turn, they might run out of food. So here’s my portion. I already ate. Why don’t you eat?”

“The boy took my food and bowed, I thought he would eat it right away, but he didn’t. He took the bag of food, went up to where the line ended and put it where all the food was waiting to be distributed.

“I was shocked. I asked him why he didn’t eat it and instead added it to the food pile. He answered: “because I see a lot more people hungrier than I am. If I put it there, then they will distribute the food equally.’

“When I heard that I turned away so that people wouldn’t see me cry

“A society that can produce a 9-year-old who understands the concept of sacrifice for the greater good must be a great society, a great people.”

Certainly, Jesus will not only say to this kind of persons, “You are not far from the Kingdom of God” but the Lord will surely say, “You belong to the Kingdom of God” for they have shown in praxis what it means to love others even beyond and above their personal comforts and interest (Fr. Ronnie R. Crisostomo, SVD Bible Diary 2012)

**************************************************************************

June 2, 2016 Thursday

A story is told of an old wise man who told his young grandson that in order to attain understanding he must “go into the rain and raise his head and arms heavenward.” The next day, the young man came to report, and said, “Grandfather, I followed your advice and water owed down my neck…and I felt like a perfect fool.” To this the old man replied: “Well, for the rst day, that is quite an understanding, don’t you think?”

In today’s gospel we heard someone trying to seek understanding from Jesus by asking Him about the first of the commandments. Jesus replied, saying: (1) “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all you mind, and with all your strength;” and (2) “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

What an understanding indeed: Without loving God first, everything else we do would mean nothing. Our big-hearted gestures, our generous, philanthropic and humanitarian deeds could come to naught when our hearts are devoid of God’s love. Despite its merit and importance, the love of neighbor should never be used to usurp and absolve us from our lack of love for God. In the same vein, our love for God cannot excuse us from doing something concrete for our brothers and sisters in need. The two commandments are inclusive of each other, as one is pointless without the other.

A few years back, our Muslim neighbors here in Nairobi, Kenya gave our SVD seminary community 30 kg of beef. We were just one of hundreds of their neighbors who received such gift. It was a touching and symbolic gesture, to say the least, especially when seen in the context of overcoming religious prejudices and building bridges across different faith-communities. In such act of kindness, an attempt was made to express an all-inclusive approach to love of neighbor as a way of manifesting one’s love of God.

There are many things to understand in our Christian life, but our love of God and neighbor is the place to begin. (Fr. Sisoy Cellan , SVD Kenya Bible Diary 2016)

rveritas-asia.org/daily-reflection/685-june-2-2016-thursday

***************************************************************

Self – Donation

June 4, 2015 (readings)

Thursday of the Ninth Week in Ordinary Time

Father Edward McIlmail, LC

Mark 12:28-34

One of the scribes came to Jesus and asked him, “Which is the first of all the commandments?” Jesus replied, “The first is this: Hear, O Israel! The Lord our God is Lord alone! You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength. The second is this: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. There is no other commandment greater than these.” The scribe said to him, “Well said, teacher. You are right in saying, He is One and there is no other than he. And to love him with all your heart, with all your understanding, with all your strength, and to love your neighbor as yourself is worth more than all burnt offerings and sacrifices.” And when Jesus saw that he answered with understanding, he said to him, “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.” And no one dared to ask him any more questions.

Introductory Prayer: Lord, I come before you humbly. As one who has frequently fallen into sin, I am aware of my weakness. Your great love, though, assures me that your grace can keep me on the path to holiness.

Petition: Lord, help me live according to the New Testament.

  1. Getting Beyond Myself: A scribe asks Jesus a pointed question and assumes that there is only a one-step answer. In fact, Jesus goes beyond a one-step response and links love of God with love of neighbor. “Whoever says he is in the light, yet hates his brother, is still in the darkness” (2 John 1:9). Christianity is not strictly a me-and-Jesus affair; such a faith can fall into self-centeredness and disdain for the world. We are called to be leaven in the world, to bring light to the darkness. Jesus wants us to be his arms and legs and voice in the world. Am I content to say prayers and make weekly Mass ― but to do little else? Might God be asking me to get more involved in the parish? In the school? In some kind of charity work?
  2. The Gift of Self Is the Greatest Gift: The scribe senses that burnt offerings are not enough. Burnt offerings are something external to us. We let go of things (money, used clothes, old furniture) much faster than we let go of our time, our way of thinking. We give things but not ourselves. Am I loathe to give more of my time to help the Church? Why?
  3. Fear of God’s Demands: The scribes understood that Jesus was raising the bar on religious observance. Sacrificing a sheep or a goat wasn’t enough anymore. Christ wanted them to give of themselves ― and that left them uneasy. The Old Testament sacrifices were giving way to the New Testament sacrifice ― the very sacrifice of self. That’s what Jesus wanted; that’s what Jesus himself gave. He gave himself up to a cross to confound our self-love. Does it scare me to die to myself? To my whims? What is Jesus asking of me that makes me uneasy?

Conversation with Christ: Lord, you know it’s costly for me to let go of my own way of thinking, to give of my time. Help me realize that this may be the more perfect offering that you seek from me.

Resolution: I will offer to do a favor that is costly in personal terms.

© 1980-Present. The Legion of Christ, Incorporated. All rights reserved. Reproduced with Permission of Copyright Owner.

epriest.com/reflections/view/409?utm_source=bulletin_738&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Bulletin

*****************************************************************

One Bread, One Body – Reflection for June 4, 2015

GOD IN THE BEDROOM

“Tobiah arose from bed and said to his wife: ‘My love, get up. Let us pray.’ ” –Tobit 8:4

Look what happens when a married couple welcomes God into the bedroom. They marry “for a noble purpose” (Tb 8:7), such as convincing the world that Jesus loves the Church by reflecting God’s love in their marriage (Eph 5:25, 32). They pray together, lead holy lives, and pass godly faith to the next generation.

You may think that what happens in your bedroom impacts only you and your spouse. On the contrary, your “private” actions impact your children, extended family, and the world. In fact, Jesus proclaims that your private words and actions “in locked rooms will be proclaimed from the rooftops” (Lk 12:3). Moreover, if God is evicted from your bedroom, Satan moves in (see Lk 11:24-26). The work of the evil one is to destroy marriages and families. Your private actions and attitudes of mistrust in God are displayed publicly through unforgiveness, bitterness, and mistrust of your spouse, all of which sow the seeds of divorce.

Married couples, do you neglect to pray together? Have you practiced artificial contraception, sterilization, or abortion? Is your marriage honored in every way and your marriage bed still undefiled? (see Heb 13:4) Repent of any lack of trust in God for your marriage. God’s reputation is at stake. The world is watching your marriage. Will the world decide by observing your marriage that God is worthy of trust?

PRAYER: Jesus, may all married couples accept you as Lord.

PROMISE: “Your marriage to her has been decided in heaven!” –Tb 7:11

PRAISE: John shared his faith in Jesus at his workplace for the first time. Initially, he was rejected, but later a coworker sought him out and was converted.

mycatholic.com/reflections/2015-155.html

**********************************************************

June 4, 2015

Thursday of the 9th Week of Ordinary Time B

Tobit 6: 10-11; 7: 1, 9-17; 8: 4-9a; Mk 12: 28-34

Love as He Loves

It is not due to the lack of knowledge that people often fail to do what is right. Knowledge is not power until it is put into use. This is the message that Jesus wanted to convey to the learned scribe who approached him asking which commandment is the first of all. The Pharisees prided themselves in the knowledge of the law and their ritual requirements. They made it a life-time practice to study the 613 precepts of the Old Testament along with the numerous rabbinic commentaries. Jesus did not perceive any evil intend in the person who asked him to appraise commandments. He considered this request genuine and therefore deserved a straightforward answer with due explanation. Jesus surprised his listeners with his profound simplicity and mastery of the law of God and its purpose. Delving deep into the ocean of the Old Testament’s commandments, laws and regulations Jesus emerged and exposed love as the foundation of every valid law. All laws should emerge out of and lead towards love in order to be valid and authentic. Unfortunately, this is not the case in most instances. Most of our laws are emerging out of, and intended to promote and perpetrate fear. Therefore they are radically defective and dangerous. Genuine disciples of Jesus should not be governed by fear but love and compassion of God.

What God wants from us is to love as he loves. St John makes this very clear, “Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love” (1Jn 4:8). God is love and everything he does flows from his love for us. God loved us first (1Jn 4:19) and our love for him is a response to his exceeding grace and kindness towards us. The love of God comes first and the love of neighbor is firmly grounded in the love of God. The more we know of God the more we love him and the more we love him the greater will be our love and concern for our fellow beings. St Paul says, “Hope does not disappoint us, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit which has been given to us” (Rom 5:5). Dr. Kurian Perumpallikunnel CMI

navchetana.com/web/homilies.php?date=2015-06-4

**********************************************************

TWO MONKS – The second is this, “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” – Mark 12:31

There were two monks who lived together. Year after year, they were the only two inhabitants of their monastery. Not once have they gotten into an argument. One day, the younger monk said, “We have such a peaceful coexistence. Maybe we should fight now and then.”

The older monk replied, “OK, so what will we fight about?”

“How about this,” said the younger one as he placed their only loaf of bread between them. “This is the only food we have left. Let’s fight about this.” Then he grabbed the loaf and said defiantly, “This is mine!”

The older monk answered, “OK, you can have it.” And their peaceful coexistence ensued.

The story is simple but the lesson is clear. Even if someone wants to pick a fight with you, the squabble ends if you don’t fight back. Proverbs 20:3 says, “It is to one’s honor to avoid strife, but every fool is quick to quarrel.”

It’s easier said than done, but if we truly want to show love, Jesus-style, then there are many times when we have to hold back, even if we know we can win an argument. Rissa Singson Kawpeng (justbreatherissa@gmail.com)

Reflection: A person full of love spreads love wherever she goes. But a person filled with anger will bring discord everywhere.

Jesus, teach us to be peacemakers that we may be called children of God. Amen.

kerygmafamily.com/modules/dailyreadings/read.php?date=2015-06-04

*******************************************************

PUTTING ALL QUESTIONS TO REST – Mark 12 opens with Jesus being questioned by Pharisees (lawyers) and Herodians (politicians) about taxation before Caesar. In yesterday’s Gospel, we heard how Jesus was confronted by Sadducees (Temple priests) about the issue of death, resurrection and judgment. Today, scribes (ordained and professional teachers) get their turn in asking Jesus about the hierarchy of rules and values found in the Covenant laws.

Patiently, Jesus took time to answer each group with their respective concerns and inquiries. He answered each one with depth, with candidness, and with all straightforward truthfulness after He gave each group the benefit of their own space and time. Jesus was not always successful in swaying everyone to His side, for this involved a corresponding openness and goodwill on the part of the others. Nonetheless, the evangelist concludes: “And no one dared to ask Him any more questions.”

Let us learn from Jesus. Teaching and evangelization is not a one-way “pontifical” and “dogmatic” action. Especially in the context of today’s world, there is need for patient and respectful listening to everyone. Teachers are, first of all, sensitive learners. With due apologies to those who have a penchant for making short sayings, we cannot say, “Christ is the Answer,” if we have not listened to the questions of the people! The process, the interactive dialogue itself, can even be more enriching than the final answer.Fr. Domie Guzman, SSP

REFLECTION QUESTIONS: What questions about human life, faith and God do you continuously encounter in your interaction with people? What are your own persistent questions?

People have questions. Grant me a listening heart, Lord. May I listen more than speak.

kerygmafamily.com/modules/dailyreadings/read.php?date=2015-06-04

*************************************************************

POWER BANK OF LOVE – “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength. The second is this: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”  – Mark 12:30-31

“When you love and give, never forget to leave something for yourself.” Maybe someone has given you this advice after you gave everything and still got hurt in the end. Maybe he or she is teaching you to love yourself more. I understand that. God’s call to love is always three-fold, involving Him, others and you.

While I agree that you should always love yourself, I disagree with the above advice. Because I believe that loving should not be afraid to be emptied. Isn’t that what God did when He left the comforts of heaven to be a helpless little Baby in a manger? Isn’t that what Jesus did for us on the cross? He emptied Himself.

We are like power banks, a storage of God’s love ready to give life to people running on low batt. A power bank is not afraid to be emptied. All it needs to do is to connect to the socket of God’s love, where real and unlimited love overflows. Tired of giving and loving? Get recharged by the love of God. It never runs out. Velden Lim (veldenlim@gmail.com)

Reflection: “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears does not reach perfection in love. We love because He first loved us.” (1 John 4:18)

Jesus, disturb me when all I care about is self-preservation. Teach me to love selflessly.

kerygmafamily.com/modules/dailyreadings/read.php?date=2016-06-02

************************************************************

THE SECRET OF BEING NEAR THE KINGDOM OF GOD – In contrast to that of yesterday, our Gospel today is more positive and affirmative: “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.” Jesus said this to the scribe who engaged Him in a discussion regarding the greatest commandment of the Law. Jesus gave His approval to the scribe’s insight affirming Jesus’ declaration.

But Jesus actually gave two answers to the original question. While the scribe wanted to know “which is the first of all the commandments,” Jesus did not only reply to that question (the answer to which was obvious anyway). He also added a second commandment as part of His answer. The first one — the greatest commandment — should already suffice as an answer to the scribe’s question. But it was as though Jesus wanted to make it clear that the first commandment (love of God) cannot stand by itself. The second one is needed to keep the first one grounded in a concrete expression. Love of neighbor is the manifestation of the love of God.  Complementarily, love of God is the foundation for love of neighbor.

In other words, “it takes two” to fulfill the greatest commandment. Just like in everyday life, there are many ordinary but useful objects which always go by pairs (jeans, socks, scissors, etc.). Even in our liturgy today, we have a pair of saints: Marcellinus and Peter.

So now Jesus teaches us that the commandment of love works in tandem: love of God and love of neighbor. May we never break apart Jesus’ great commandment of love. Only then will He commend us, “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.” Fr. Martin Macasaet, SDB

REFLECTION QUESTION: How do you show your love for God through your neighbor?

Help me to put my love for You in action, Lord. Create in me a compassionate and loving heart so that I may love my neighbor more. Amen.

kerygmafamily.com/modules/dailyreadings/read.php?date=2016-06-02

**************************************************************

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

THURSDAY OF THE 9TH WEEK IN ORDINARY TIME (YEAR C) – MARCOS 12:28-34. UNSA MAY NINDOT NGA HALAD PARA SA GINOO? Ang ebanghelyo nagtudlo nga ang halad nga makalipay sa Dios dili ang kwarta o butang nga atong dalhon sa altar, kondili ang paghigugma Kaniya sa tibuok natong kasingkasing, hunahuna ug kusog, ug ang paghigugma sa isigkaingon sama sa paghigugma sa kaugalingon. Sa ato pa diay, ang atong kwarta o butang nga dalhon sa simbahan mahimo lamang nga bililhon kon sa inadlaw-adlaw natong kinabuhi aduna kitay panahon para sa Ginoo ug aduna kitay pagbati para sa isigkatawo. Nindot ang pahimangno ni Mother Teresa: “At the end of our lives, we will not be judged by how many diplomas we have received, or how much money we have made. We will be judged by ‘I was hungry and you gave me to eat, I was naked and you clothed me, I was homeless and you took me in.’” Posted by Abet Uy

abetuy.blogspot.com/2016/06/thursday-of-9th-week-in-ordinary-time.html

**********************************************************

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Reflection for June 2, Thursday in the Ninth Week of OT; Mark 12:28-34

Reflection: How do you manifest your love for God?

To love God is to discover more about Him, thus you need to thirst and hunger for Him. You need to be always present at Holy Mass and feel His presence there.  You need to read the bible and be faithful to its teachings.

If you will read the first four gospels of the New Testament (Matthew, Mark, Luke and John) you will have a better appreciation of the true to life story of Jesus.  To love God is to live His teachings as well.

After you have fully expressed your love for God the next commandment will automatically set-in (You shall love your neighbor as yourself). What is this love for our neighbor? Is this a selective kind of love or an encompassing love?

The love for our neigbor should always be an encompassing love and not a selective love. Sometimes this is where we are deficient because we only choose the neighbor that we love. – Marino J. Dasmarinas

mjdasma.blogspot.com/2016/06/reflection-for-june-2-thursday-in-ninth.html

*****************************************************

See Today’s Readings:  Year I,    Year II

Back to: Thursday of the 9th Week of the Year

This entry was posted in zz. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

